Sag Alles Ab!

Cancel everything

Do recommendation engines really help me to become more like me?

Recommendation engines are very good at figuring out what people like me would do and telling me what that is, so I can then find out what people like me do. I can become much more like a person like me.

(…)

Recommendation engines, by telling me what people like me do and encouraging me to be like a person like me, they help me to become more prototypically one of my kind of person. And the more like one of my kind of person I become, the less me I am, and the more I am a demographic type.


Douglas Rushkoff, in an interview for “The Virtual Revolution” (2010)

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

